FHSAA announces 10 schools receiving 2016 Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (6/15/16) – The Florida High School Athletic Association promotes sportsmanship both on and off the field and wants to recognize the schools that portray these ideals. FHSAA announced Wednesday the recipients of this year’s Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards. The award honors schools whose athletic teams demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2015-2016 regular season as well as FHSAA State Series competition. This year, seven high schools and three middle schools received the prestigious award.

Thousands of Car Accessories@TOMTOP.com
HealthmateForever, fda cleared, free domestic shipping, model, unit
Tênis Oakley
Mountain Warehouse
Fitflop CA
Classic Football Shirts
O+ Biggi - Oxygen Plus
Tbdress Exclusive Coupon: $4 OFF Over $59 for Wearable Technology, Code: Tech, Buy Now!

First Coast Christian (Jacksonville) received the 2A Section 1 honor for the third year in a row and Pace was the 6A Section 1 winner for the second straight year. Episcopal (Jacksonville) secured the 4A overall award for the second year in a row and the 4A Section 1 award for the third straight year. Canterbury (St. Petersburg), South Fork (Stuart) and Boone all took home the overall award, as well as their section award. Berkeley Prep was a first-time winner after claiming the award for 4A Section 3. For middle schools, Yulee Middle was the overall winner.

“The FHSAA strives to build leaders through teamwork, sportsmanship and citizenship. Good sportsmanship creates a better environment and leads to a better experience for the student-athletes, coaches and fans," FHSAA Executive Director Dr. Roger Dearing said. "These respectful habits can be used well-beyond high school, and we are happy to recognize these schools and their student-athletes for conducting themselves in a respectful manner throughout the 2015-2016 school year." 

The award, presented annually since 1991, is named in honor of FHSAA Commissioner Emeritus Fred E. Rozelle. The overall classification recipient is presented to one school in each classification whose total sports program best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship as demonstrated by its coaches, players and spectators. Awards are also given to section winners within each classification. Criteria for selection of the winners includes programs and activities implemented within the school and community to promote sportsmanship; the number and type of unsportsmanlike ejections; the number and type of exceptional sportsmanship reports; and the source of the nomination.

The Edinburgh Woollen Mil
Get Free Shipping on FUL Bags, Backpacks & Travel Gear - At FUL We Create Quality Bags With A Fashion Edge! Ful.com! Click Here!
Isabella Oliver Maternity Sale
Peter Millar - Luxurious Clothing for Men and Women
Cotton On (AU)
Tidebuy  Sexy Swimwear Shop Now!
James Perse Enterprises

Section winners will each receive $500 and a commemorative plaque. Each overall winner will receive an additional $2,500 and a plaque. 

The schools receiving the FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards for outstanding sportsmanship in 2015-2016 are:

High Schools – 2A
Section 1 – First Coast Christian (Jacksonville)
Section 3 – Canterbury (St. Petersburg)
Overall Winner – Canterbury (St. Petersburg)

High Schools – 4A
Section 1 – Episcopal (Jacksonville)
Section 4 – Berkeley Prep
Overall Winner – Episcopal (Jacksonville)

Save up to 75% on Flights
Spring Flight Deals. Get $30 Off.
Purium© SAVE - get $50 OFF orders $75 or more
INOV-8 Nature will always be 728x90
HatCountry shop now!
Basic Outfitters

High Schools – 6A
Section 1 – Pace
Section 3 – South Fork (Stuart)
Overall Winner – South Fork (Stuart)

High Schools – 8A
Section 2 – Boone (Orlando)
Overall Winner – Boone (Orlando)

Middle Schools
Section 1 – Yulee Middle
Section 2 – Crystal River Middle
Section 4 – Weston Christian
Overall Winner – Yulee Middle

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.