GAINESVILLE, Fla(6/12/17) – The Florida High School Athletic Association announced Monday the recipients of this year’s Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards. The FHSAA promotes sportsmanship both on and off the field and wants to recognize the schools that portray these ideals. The award is given to schools whose athletic teams demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2016-2017 regular season as well as FHSAA State Series competition. This year, fifteen high schools and two middle schools received the prestigious award.

The format of how the award is given was changed for the 2016-2017 school year. Instead of section and overall winners, like in previous years, the FHSAA elected to name a first place and runner up winner for each classification. For the third straight year Episcopal (Jacksonville) has placed after winning two straight in 4A, and runner up this year in 5A. Weston Christion, after winning their section the past three years, placed runner up in the middle school category.

“Good sportsmanship gives student-athletes, coaches, fans, and family members the opportunity to enjoy a more wholesome environment in which all can share a better experience,” FHSAA Executive Director Dr. Roger Dearing said. “We strive to instill this principal into all of our athletes in the state of Florida. These habits can be used well-beyond the confines of a stadium or ballpark. We are happy to recognize these schools and their student-athletes who exemplify not only sportsmanship, but teamwork and citizenship as well.” 

The award, presented annually since 1991, is named in honor of FHSAA Commissioner Emeritus Fred E. Rozelle. The overall classification recipient is presented to one school in each classification whose total sports program best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship as demonstrated by its coaches, players and spectators. Awards are also given to a runner up within each classification. Criteria for selection of the winners includes programs and activities implemented within the school and community to promote sportsmanship; the number and type of technical fouls received; the number and type of exceptional sportsmanship reports; and the source of the nomination.

Classification runner-ups will each receive $500 and a commemorative plaque. Each classification winner will receive $2,500 and a plaque. 

The schools receiving the FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards for outstanding sportsmanship in 2016-2017 are:

1A – First Place:  Cedar Key

         Runner Up: N/A

2A – First Place:  Lakeside Christian (Clearwater)

         Runner Up: Geneva (Winter Park)

3A – First Place:  Keswick Christian (St. Petersburg)

         Runner Up: N/A

4A – First Place:  Marathon

         Runner Up: N/A

5A – First Place:  Lincoln Park (Fort Pierce)

         Runner Up: Episcopal (Jacksonville)

6A – First Place:  Suncoast (Riviera Beach)

         Runner Up: Bishop Moore (Orlando)

7A – First Place:  Escambia (Pensacola)

         Runner Up: Lake Region (Eagle Lake)

8A – First Place:  Viera (Melbourne)

         Runner Up: Gulf Coast (Naples)

9A – First Place:  Braddock (Miami)

         Runner Up: Coral Reef (Miami)

Middle – First Place:  Lecanto Middle

               Runner Up: Weston Christian

Leave a Comment

Event Search