GAINESVILLE, FLA. (3/5/19) – The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) announced Tuesday Florida football legend Derrick Brooks will headline the 12-member NFHS National High School Hall of Fame Class of 2019. Brooks will be inducted on June 30 at the 37th Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Growing up in the Panhandle, Brooks attended Booker T. Washington High School in Pensacola. In his final two years at Washington, the high school All-American recorded 29 sacks and 300-plus tackles, finishing his prep career by being named National Defensive Player of the Year by USA Today. He was also honored his senior year by being named the National Dial Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

In 2001, Brooks was named to the USA Today All-Time High School Football Team. Six years later, he was selected to the Florida High School Athletic Association All-Century Team. In 2015, Brooks was inducted into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

Beyond high school, the star linebacker played at Florida State University, where he was a three-time First Team All-ACC performer, a two-time All-American and the 1993 Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year. In 2016, Brooks was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

After graduating from FSU in 1995, Brooks was selected in the first round of the NFL Draft with the 28th overall pick by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Among the accolades the 14-year pro earned were: Super Bowl champion (2002), six-time first-team All-Pro, 11-time Pro Bowler, Walter Payton Man of the Year Award (2003) and the Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year Award winner (2002). In 2014, Brooks was inducted into the NFL’s Pro Football Hall of Fame.

As an advocate for education, he cofounded Brooks-DeBartolo Collegiate High School in Tampa.


The Florida High School Athletic Association supervises and regulates interscholastic athletic programs for high school students at member public, private and charter schools. The organization also recognizes and honors academic achievement among student-athletes at almost 800 middle, junior and senior high schools statewide. Headquartered in Gainesville, it is the official governing body for interscholastic athletics in Florida.


The National High School Hall of Fame was started in 1982 by the NFHS to honor high school athletes, coaches, contest officials, administrators, performing arts coaches/directors and others for their extraordinary achievements and accomplishments in high school sports and performing arts programs. This year’s class increases the number of individuals in the Hall of Fame to 482.

The 12 individuals were chosen after a two-level selection process involving a screening committee composed of active high school state association administrators, coaches and officials, and a final selection committee composed of coaches, former athletes, state association officials, media representatives and educational leaders. Nominations were made through NFHS member associations.

Leave a Comment

Event Search