GB team named for World Para Athletics Championships

Jonnie Peacock, Libby Clegg and Hannah Cockroft among athletes on 43-strong British team for global event in Dubai in November

A British team of 43 athletes has been selected to compete at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai in November.

A total of 11 reigning world champions from London 2017 feature in the squad, including 10-time world gold medallist Hannah Cockroft, grand slam champions Hollie Arnold and Sophie Hahn and two-time Paralympic gold medallists Aled Davies, Jonnie Peacock and Richard Whitehead.

Also among the returning world champions are Olivia Breen, Kadeena Cox, Sophie Kamlish, Sammi Kinghorn and Stef Reid.

Making her return to global competition after the birth of her son, Edward, in April, is double Paralympic champion Libby Clegg, who will be guided in the T11 200m by Thomas Somers.

Dan Greaves will not be competing, however, as the discus thrower has been ruled out of attending his seventh world championships due to injury.

Race Running makes its debut at the World Para Athletics Championships after featuring at last year’s European Championships, where the British team secured two titles and four medals.

Rafi Solaiman and Kayleigh Haggo will headline the RR3 100m, with European champion Gavin Drysdale and Ellie Simpson also among the best in the world over the discipline.

Sprinter Ola Abidogun earns his first British vest since the IPC European Championships in Swansea in 2014. The 2012 Paralympic silver medallist, who balances a career as a solicitor alongside his athletics, will race in the T47 100m and form part of the universal 4x100m relay squad.

“I am delighted to be able to select a team of 43 for the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai,” said British Athletics’ para athletics head coach, Paula Dunn.

“The event is a key competition in the cycle as well the final opportunity to take on the best in the world at a global championship before Tokyo, and I’m really excited to see how this team performs in two months’ time.

“Alongside this, we have four athletes making their senior debuts for the British squad and I’m very pleased to see them joining this team after demonstrating they are ready for this level of competition. It is testament to their hard work and progress during the season.”

She added: “We enjoyed our best ever world championships at the biggest edition of the event in London two years ago, but we are not complacent. Para-athletics is ever evolving and athletes from all countries have continued to improve since then. I expect our team to step up and show their ability on the international stage.”

British team for the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai, November 7-15

Kare Adenegan – T34 100m & 800m
Hollie Arnold – F46 javelin
Martina Barber – T20 long jump
Olivia Breen – T38 long jump & 100m
Jo Butterfield – F51 club throw
Lydia Church – F12 shot put
Libby Clegg (guide runner: Thomas Somers) – T11 200m & universal 4x100m relay
Hannah Cockroft – T34 100m & 800m
Kadeena Cox – T38 200m & 400m
Sabrina Fortune – F20 shot put
Kayleigh Haggo – RR3 100m
Sophie Hahn – T38 100m, 200m & universal 4x100m relay
Sophie Kamlish – T64 100m
Sammi Kinghorn – T53 100m & universal 4x100m relay
Maria Lyle – T35 100m & 200m
Anna Nicholson – F35 shot put
Stef Reid – T64 long jump
Ellie Simpson – RR3 100m
Ali Smith – T38 100m, 400m & universal 4x100m relay
Hannah Taunton – T20 1500m
Vanessa Wallace – F34 shot put

Ola Abidogun – T47 100m & universal 4x100m relay
Paul Blake– T36 400m & 800m
Jonathan Broom-Edwards – T64 high jump
Mickey Bushell – T53 100m
Richard Chiassaro – T54 100m, 400m, 800m & 1500m
Aled Davies – F63 shot put
Gavin Drysdale – RR3 100m
Kyron Duke – F41 shot put
Jordan Howe – T35 100m
Harri Jenkins – T33 100m
Nathan Maguire – T54 100m, 400m, 800m & universal 4x100m relay
Owen Miller – T20 1500m
Jonnie Peacock – T64 100m & universal 4x100m relay
Ben Rowlings – T34 100m, 400m & 800m
Luke Sinnott – T63 long jump & T61 200m
Zak Skinner – T13 long jump & universal 4x100m relay
Andrew Small – T33 100m
Rafi Solaiman – RR3 100m
Isaac Towers – T34 400m & 800m
Richard Whitehead – T61 200m
Thomas Young – T38 100m

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.